Saturday, February 21, 2009

Why I despise "America"


Why is it that people who are from the United States are called "American"? That term is wrong. Everyone from the most northern part of North America to the most southern part of South America is "American". People from Europe are Europeans and people from Asia are Asians. Why do we use this word so incorrectly? Americans are from America - North or South America. By this token, we should be calling people from the US "United Statsians" or something. But alas, we don't.

But you know what bothers me the most? When people who say stuff like "for the good of America" and they are only talking about the US. It bugged me before when people said that, specifically those from the US, but only recently has it come to my attention the actual reason for this dislike. And I feel like this is related to the stereotypical attitude of those from the States- you know how they think egocentrically.

*sigh* This is not meant to be a rant on the US, but it's looking like it is at this point. I just don't like the word usage.

I am going to make a conscious effort to never refer to the States as being "American". But it will be tough, since we don't have a word that is in common usage. Maybe I will just go ahead and use United Statsian... Maybe I will... :)

2 comments:

Genshine said...

WEIRD. I was thinking of writing a blog dealing with Canadian nationalism and how for so long I was related more to "Americans" than Canadians. Sadly, I like the word Americans so I'll still be using it. :P

GE[M]NA said...

You used it twice! Agh! But why do you like the word?

PS See we're the same person! hahah